Music to Your Ears (Hopefully)

Posted: June 25, 2009 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , , ,

I listen to music a lot. And I have very wide-ranging taste in music, everything from hip-hop to big band swing and everything in between. Except country. I hate country. So, in honor of summer being a great time to listen to good music, here are ten songs I love and will listen to again and again.

  1. Kings of Leon, “On Call.” I love love this song. Crank it up, sing along, enjoy its awesomeness.
  2. Anything by Pink Martini. What? You haven’t heard of them? Neither had I, until my friend Pandora.com found them for me. They have a cool French club singer/big band vibe with a lot of other nice sounds thrown in.
  3. Ray Charles, “What Would I do Without You?” Love me some Ray Charles. This one is not as upbeat as some of his others, but still so good.
  4. Iio, “Rapture.” Totally the opposite of my other picks, this is a dance hit that I couldn’t get out of my head for years and yet had no idea who sang it or what it was called. When I finally did find it, I Wore. It. Out. If you can find the Aarmen Van Buren remix, which is about nine minutes long, and you like this sort of music, you really will be in “Rapture.” I was!
  5. Timbaland feat. She Wants Revenge, “Time.” Why this song never made it to radio, I don’t know. It’s got everything a good hip-hop song needs, and I play it at least once a day. Seriously.
  6. Jason Mraz, “I’m Yours.” I know, I know, you can probably sing this in your sleep, but you do have to admit…it’s damn catchy!
  7. This one is in honor of Sophie: Lady Gaga, “Pokerface.” She totally loves this song, and loves to dance to it. I can’t believe I let my four-year-old listen to a song where Lady Gaga talks about her “muffin,” but there you have it. My only consolation is that Sophie has no idea what she is talking about.
  8. “Bad Things,” the opening song from HBO’s True Blood. I have gone around on more occasions than I can count muttering “I wanna do bad things to you,” risking serious dirty looks from strangers.
  9. Jimi Hendrix, “All Along the Watchtower.” I don’t know why. I just love this song. The guitar, the growling, everything about it is just cool.
  10. Okay, permit me my hairband moment…Whitesnake, “In the Still of the Night.” Just because their hair isn’t fab anymore doesn’t mean the song isn’t. This song rocks!

So there you have it. I told you I have strange taste in music. I could probably add a hundred other songs to this list, too. But, I didn’t! Just ten. So, what do you think? Any of these songs float your boat? Any that are number one on your list? What are your “play over and over” songs? I’d love to hear them!

Happy Listening!

Leave a Reply

