Everything Old…

Posted: June 28, 2009 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , ,

Who knew in-ground pools were great places for conversation? I take Sophie to my Mom and Dad’s pool often because she has suddenly become a fish this summer. Of course, if one is in the pool, everyone has to be in the pool, right? Besides, it’s easier to keep a hawk-eye on Sophie with three adults in the pool, anyway.

So we usually have some extended conversations while we are all swimming. This Friday’s conversation took place after we had all gone to Sophie’s performance at Dance Camp. Since the temperature has been at 100 degrees (no joke!) for about two weeks now, a dip in the pool was just what we needed after driving downtown.

Somehow we got onto the topic of good old movies we will watch again and again, even at the expense of watching the new ones that we haven’t seen yet. My dad said he had just watched “The Final Countdown” again, which I think must be his favorite movie. He called it hokey, but said there was still just something about it he liked. Its about a warship that goes through a time portal.

Here are some other movie we talked about. If you must know, I watched a lot of movies with my Mom and Dad while I was growing up that were probably more for “grown-ups” but they are still some of my favorite movies. So while everyone else was watching Goonies and The Lost Boys, I was watching The Money Pit and The Big Easy. I’m not corrupted by them as far as I know, so that’s good. 🙂

  1. Top Gun. We had the movie and the CD when compact discs were brand new.
  2. My parents have been talking a lot about Dirty Harry lately after seeing “Gran Turino.” I’ve never seen a Dirty Harry movie, which horrified them, so I guess we’ll be watching one soon.
  3. Outrageous Fortune: one of my favorites. I loved Shelley Long and Bette Midler in this movie. For some reason, the whole movie was hilarious to me!
  4. For just me and my Dad: Bram Stoker’s Dracula. This is the best creepy vampire movie. It just is…so deal with it!
  5. My Dad, my hubby and I talk longingly about the day we wake up, put on all three extended editions of Lord of the Rings back-to-back and bask in the glory of the best movie trilogy on Dad’s projector screen. Someday…we will!!!
  6. I brought up “Legal Eagles” with Robert Redford and Daryl Hannah as a movie that I have wanted to re-watch for years but just haven’t. So Mom is putting it on her Netflix!
  7. Mom wants to watch “Man in the Moon” again, but I told her that I refuse to watch it ever again, because I bawled like a baby the first time I watched it when I was fourteen. It is really good, but I don’t want to cry again!
  8. “Wild Hearts Can’t Be Broken.” I can probably recite the entire movie word-for-word. It is a great movie about the 30’s and there was horses in in, so I was totally sold on it as a teenager. Still am, in fact!

So those are some of the movies we talked about. Now I’ll have to go watch them all again, you know. Anybody else have movies that you just want to watch over and over. Or movies you watched as a kid that you still love?

Comments
  1. Hey – Phil and I watched the LOTR trilogy a few Christmases ago. We started around 1:30 P.M. and finished around 1:00 A.M. Mary conked out about 11:30 :).

    It is a great thing but gets long if you have the extended versions. We didn't bother with any of the “extras”, so have fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

