You Can Steer Yourself In Any Direction You Choose…

Posted: August 7, 2011 in Life Lessons
Tags: ,

Yup, you guessed it. I have resorted to the immortal words of Dr. Seuss. In “Oh, the Places You’ll Go,” for those who are not familiar with his work (ha ha), he says “You have brains in your head, you have feet in your shoes, you can steer yourself in any direction you choose.”

That’s me going…somewhere!

I like that.

I AM the gal who’ll decide where I go. It’s taken me 32 years to discover this. I guess if I’d paid more attention when I was 6, I wouldn’t have had to go through all the mess I went through to get here? I guess that’s why they say “you live and you learn.”

Which Direction?

So, If you’ve read any of my previous posts, (thank you, by the way) you’ll notice three things.

  1. They are all over the map. I’ve written about anything and everything. And sometimes, nothing.
  2. They go back quite a ways in time.
  3. It’s kind of sporadic. I’ve gone long stretches without posting anything.

 The reason is that I’ve never been really clear on why I actually have a blog. Is it sort of an online journal? A way to support my business aspirations? Because everyone else has a blog? In truth, it’s probably a combination of these reason and several others. And, as I’ve said before, I really struggle with the prevailing idea that my blog has to fall into a specific niche, go in a certain direction and/or provide specific information for a specific group of people. I’ve never known what my niche is. And who are these people, somewhere…out there…who are looking for the specific information that I am, currently and previously, not offering? It’s enough to make my head ache.

I’ve been thinking about my blog a lot lately. And about the direction my life is heading. And really, scary enough, there are many parallels.

  • My blog had no direction and neither did I.
  • I didn’t know what I wanted to do, or what I could do in either my life or my blog.
  • I let big issues get in the way of what I felt was right for me. 
  • I care too much what other people think or say about what I should be doing. Yeah, this is a huge one.
  • I really struggle with how to “put myself out there” both personally and professionally. And my blog follows right along with that. I try to be honest about what I am saying on here, and there are many people that I consider very close to me that don’t even know I have a blog.

There are probably more things here that I could list, but I won’t. The point is, over this summer, I have really done some hard thinking about my life and what direction I want to choose. In the past, I didn’t know it was possible to be able to choose what direction my life goes in. I just went along like a small stick floating down a river, letting the current pull me wherever it felt like pulling me, and truthfully sometimes it felt like I nearly drowned. Now, I’m smarter. I got myself a paddle. I’m building a boat. I steer, I give the orders and I look out for the swirls that want to pull me under.

I haven’t got it all figured out yet. But it’s a start. So, thank you Dr. Seuss. Your words may have been intended for kids. Or, knowing Seuss’s books, his words were probably intended for kids and adults alike. Because it doesn’t do any good for that kid to grow up and forget that he or she is the one in charge of steering him or herself in any direction. Don’t worry, I’ll keep you posted on the direction I decide.

Have you had to choose your direction? How did you do it? And…was it scary?

Leave a Reply

