Sometimes Things Just Feel Weird?

Posted: August 15, 2011 in Jobs and Career
Tags: ,

So normally at this time, I would be going to bed early because tomorrow would be the first day of school. The night before the first day of school was always so nerve wracking and stressful; I almost never slept good. I was always thinking about how the day would go, did I forget anything, what would the parents be like, what would the kids be like, etc.

This year, for the first time in five years, I am not getting up tomorrow to go teach. I am getting up to take my daughter to her first day of first grade. And then…the day is mine. But not to sit around and eat chocolate bon bons, though. I have been given this awesome gift of a lot of free time while my daughter is in school to get my business ideas together, search out writing jobs, get stuff ready for a job interview on Thursday, decide a direction for my life to go in…you know, everyday stuff. (That was my sarcasm talking. Sorry, she comes out every once in a while.) I really do see it as a gift, too. For more than a month, we two have been stuck together in our little house as one hundred degree day followed the last in a seemingly endless parade. If I got one thing done at the end of the day, I was proud of myself. So I am really looking forward to the time I am being given this week. I am determined to use it to the fullest.

As I get more specific on this business idea I have rumbling around in my head, I’ll probably share more about it here. Right now it’s just a tiny baby idea, and I’m not even sure what it will look like yet. If any of you reading this have ever gone through the process of “Oh, this is a good business idea” to “Now I’m in business,” I’d love to hear from you. (Especially if you started a “creative” business). This is all new to me and I am trying my best to figure it out!

I’ll keep ya posted!

Leave a Reply

