Information Overload

Posted: August 16, 2011 in Jobs and Career
Tags: , ,

Yikes! I’ve become a “pile-r.” There’s a pile of printouts and binders on my loveseat, a pile of books by my rocker, a pile of clothes on my bed, and piles of emails and digital info on my computer. I check my email lately and check right back out because there are SO many emails there that I don’t even know where to begin. I think the laundry has piled up because I’m so busy trying to digest all this information that is surrounding me. I won’t even mention the piles of magazines…

Is anyone else overwhelmed out there? There’s so. much. stuff. I have all this stuff I want to read and learn and do, and I feel like I will never be able to do it all. I’ll see people say “I’m so bored,” and it makes me nuts! Bored? Sometimes I wonder what it would feel like to be bored.

I look for a lot of information online. There’s so much valuable information and it seems like I find something that leads to something else, and that leads to something… and suddenly I’m standing on the side of the information highway, totally lost.

So many people are trying to sell me something, too. I find so much good stuff for free, but there’s so much other stuff that I should pay $27, $47, $97 or $497 for! Who pays $497 for sometime online, by the way? I don’t pay $497 for something on real life, I’m sure as heck not going to do it online. I understand that some people make their living online, and need to sell as their livelihood. And I also want to make money online with my writing and art, so I understand that. However, it seems every turn on the internet leads to something that I am being asked to pay for. This morning, I was on a job website, and they wanted me to pay $30 to “verify my education.” Well, I decided not to verify it. Sheesh, if people are really questioning they can call and ask the registrar. I just thought that was ridiculous!

So there’s my current struggle. I want so much to learn all I need to know, but it seems like once I learn something, there’s sixteen other resources to go with it offering things I never considered or even knew existed. It’s just overwhelming. That’s the perfect word for it, for everything at the moment actually. It’s crazy because I am also so excited about everything going on right now, but at the same time feeling like I’m sloshing through a huge sea of information, and I don’t know if what I’m looking at is worthy or junk.

Leave a Reply

