Will your goal weight make life perfect?

Will your goal weight make life perfect?

No matter how many times we say it’s not true, many of us still believe that achieving that perfect weight/pant size/shape/look, or whatever you want to call it, will magically give us the perfect life we’ve been seeking. Or, insert any other “if only,” here: if only I had a better job, a partner who loves me, kids who listened, a college degree . . . the list is endless because each of us seeks different things.

Now, having been on both sides of the weight loss coin, I had some recent thoughts on the myth that certain things lead to perfect lives.

In the photo on the right above, I was probably at my heaviest weight.

When I weighed 220 pounds, I had all of these feelings:

  • Sad
  • Frustrated
  • Content
  • Elated
  • Invisible
  • Nervous
  • Happy
  • Thankful
  • Tired
  • Proud
  • Ashamed

In the photo on the left, I weighed the least I’d ever weighed.

When I weighed 143 pounds, I had all of these feelings:

  • Sad
  • Frustrated
  • Content
  • Elated
  • Invisible
  • Nervous
  • Happy
  • Thankful
  • Tired
  • Proud
  • Ashamed

To put it bluntly, my life was as far from “perfect” at my heaviest weight as it was when I was at my lowest weight. Losing more than 75 pounds changed many things in my life – there’s no doubt about that – but I was still the same person with the same life. Losing weight didn’t change that.

I struggle as much now with my self image as I did when I was 75 pounds heavier. It never goes away, it never ends. Achieving the “right” size, the perfect physique, the desired weight, will never change who you are at your core.

Don’t think I am saying this to discourage. It’s just the opposite, in fact. I’ve been thinking lately about the myth I believed when I began my weight loss journey, that somehow once I reached that magic goal weight, I would suddenly have the life I’d always dreamed of. I fell into that trap, and I still deal with the negative effects of that belief today.

My life at 143 pounds was filled with annoyances, have-to’s, frustrations, and disappointments. It was also filled with amazing moments, laughter, fun, and peace. Just like my life at 220 pounds.

Don’t Change Your Body Because You Believe This Myth!

Change your body because:

  • You want to be healthier
  • You want to set a good example for your family or friends
  • You want to use your body to achieve some awesome goals
  • You want to feel better
  • You want to

In Fact, Don’t Change Anything Because You Believe This Myth!

The myth that anything will “make life perfect” is a myth for a reason: life is never perfect. Life is life, and you have ups and downs, good days and bad days, awesome moments and shit moments, and none of it (none of it!) is based on your body size or shape.

Remember that you’re still you no matter what your body looks like, where you live, what work you do, who you hang out with, and work like hell to be the best you possible. If that means changing your body in some way, go for it, and be proud of your accomplishment! If it means accepting your body just the way it is, do that, and then continue to work on what makes you awesome.

Don’t live for the someday when life will be perfect . . . live for the today when life is messy, random, funny, weird, and beautiful.

At some point in our lives, we learn it was never gonna be perfect, anyway.

Did you ever believe that getting or having that one thing (a girlfriend, money, a certain weight, status, looks) would make life perfect? How did it turn out? I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments!

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54492_292_28ECA84CB8C634F9AC8CB860B63B2A62

Leave a Reply

